Department of Neurology, Washington University School of Medicine

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Department of Neurology, Washington University School of Medicine

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Department of Neurology, WUSM

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Washington University's department of neurology became an independent department within the medical school in 1963 under chairman James O'Leary. Prior to that time, neurology had been a paired with several other departments within the university, including the former Department of Psychiatry and Neurology, the former Department of Neuropsychiatry, and as a division within the medicine department.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places